Memorial Day Weekend

This weekend my parents came for a visit and Uncle Mike, Aunt Cindy, Alex, and Aaron were all here so we had a full house (apartment)!  I was so happy that everyone wanted to come because I  had a rough few days at the beginning of the week because I was so lonely in the apartment by myself.

Friday evening, Mom and Dad showed up and we were able to hang out for a little before going to bed.  Saturday morning, we all got up fairly early and I headed to Mays Landing with Mom.  Mays Landing is about 15 minutes away and has all the stores you could imagine!  It was very comforting to find a Target, Bath and Body Works, Old Navy, and most importantly MICHAELS!  Saturday evening, I had my third day of work at The Cellar 32, but my whole family came in to eat.  They all said their food was really good! (They got to try it before I even did).  Hostessing isn’t very hard because I’ve worked in the restaurant industry for a while, but its always a little difficult learning everything because each place operates differently.

On Sunday we headed to the beach at Brigantine for a while before I headed to my internship in the early evening.  This was the first event I worked for my internship and it was a beautiful wedding!   I finally got the chance to meet the other intern, Kelsi. Whenever I work an event, the kitchen provides us with a dinner beforehand.  That night we had pasta with crab meat and asparagus, snap peas, and tuna tartar.  I had everything, but I wasn’t quite willing to try the raw tuna.   As an intern at a wedding, I follow the wedding planner, banquet manager, and also serve as a greeter for the guests.  Because One Atlantic’s events are private, greeters are located at the elevators and escalators to check in all guests before the ceremony.  In addition to this, I helped set up tea light candles on the reception tables and in the lobby for cocktail hour.  We also helped the planner direct guests throughout the entire timeline of the event.  Before the event concluded,  the interns and greeters were responsible for setting up the candy bar.  The couple bought an assortment of candies and take home boxes to serve as favors for their guests.  Overall, it was a good first event.  I’m looking forward to working another wedding next weekend and expanding my skills and knowledge in the event industry.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On Monday we spent another lovely day on the beach! It was so nice to spend Memorial Day with my family.  It would not have been the same without them.  I’m truly blessed to have the family that I do.  I love them all very much!  And a special shoutout to my mom for bringing me personalized casserole dishes of homemade macaroni and cheese. She knows the way to my heart!

My dad’s weekend in photo summary:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m feeling more and more settled here as each day passes.  I’ve learned all the main roads and no longer need to use my GPS to get to my three main points of interest (home, internship, work).  I also realized that almost anywhere I need to go is 15 minutes away so it makes timing things easy.  I also think I’ve finally mastered the parking garage after a week.

Now I’m gearing up for another full week! I’ll be working at The Cellar 4 evenings and working my internship 1 or 2 days along with an event on Saturday.  With the rate I’m going it seems like its going to be a VERY busy summer and when I’m not working I’m usually on the beach working on my tan!

 

P.S. I finally have lamps in my apartment so I no longer have to sit in the dark! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Memorial Day Weekend

Leave a Reply

