Busy Days

Yesterday was another very full day.  I tried to blog about it last night at 1:30 but couldn’t form a complete thought let alone a blog post, so now that I’ve slept for a while, I’ll give it a shot!

I went to my internship yesterday from noon until five.  I really like the people at the office and I like what I’m doing so it never feels like a chore.  The first thing I did yesterday was create menus for a lunch buffet on Monday for the Atlanticare Nurses Conference.  I took the One Atlantic templates and switched things around a bit, then put them in frames to be put on display along with the buffet. Along with the menu, I also created labels for all the beverages.

photo 1 (4)

After this was completed, I worked on THE BOARD for the wedding today (Saturday).  THE BOARD is like the bible for the servers and banquet manager.  THE BOARD is a whiteboard used to show the event timeline along with the menu selections.  Transferring the timeline to the board was really easy, but then the difficult part was assigning servers to jobs. The banquet manager wanted to make sure that nobody did the same job two weeks in a row, so it took  a little bit of analytical skills to make sure that worked out correctly and that I still had enough servers on each job.  In addition to this , I had to keep in mind that every section had to have at least one server on set-up.  I actually really enjoyed doing this because I like to solve problems and figure out patterns and that’s kinda what I had to do.

photo 2 (5)

After this was finished, the director had me do some online searching.  A big trend in weddings is those paper striped straws in different colors.  A couple brides at One Atlantic choose to use these.  The director wanted me to see if these straws existed in plastic because the paper ones break easily. I found some so we contacted the supplier to make sure they were definitely plastic and not paper!  For my last assignment of the day, Eileen gave me her schedule of events from now until November.  I had to take the events and put them in  a spreadsheet (YAY!).  The spreadsheet included the client and all the vendors names (florist, photographer, DJ, etc) they were using.  This spreadsheet is used closer to the event time, and Eileen uses it to make sure she has sent follow up emails with all the vendors, along with making sure the fire permit was cleared and that the couple has provided their insurance for their event.  Eileen is definitely my type of girl, because all her spreadsheets had color codes by month and event and I was LOVING it!

After my internship, I drove to Brigantine to go to work at The Cellar.  On Friday and Saturday night during the summer months, the kitchen is open until 2 am because they’re also a bar.  Because of this, a server has to stay until 2 am and a hostess has to stay until 1 am.  I was the last hostess scheduled (at 6 pm) so that means I stay the latest.  So last night I was there really late, but it wasn’t too bad cause I got sucked into that 13 inning Phillies game on TV and my friend Michelle was the waitress there until 2 am, so we got to hang out and chat a little.

Today’s plans: Beach with my mom (OH YEAH BREN IS HERE!) & Wedding at One Atlantic this evening

Leave a Reply

