Vacations are too short

Last week I spent a wonderful 7 days in Cape May with my family.  This is a tradition we have been doing for about 40 years.  All of my dad’s cousins come and all their kids, so in total there are about 45 of us down there for the week.  We had perfect weather! Only one day it was a little cloudy and windy but it was still a nice beach day and gave our skin a break from the blistering sun. This is the first time in five years that all the Kings were down at the beach, so we decided to have a family photo taken.  In the last one we have Ava was just one year old and she will now be a freshman in high school, so we were definitely in need of a new one.  We all pulled together some white and navy outfits and it worked really well!

Weddings-OA 314

Weddings-OA 326

Weddings-OA 364

Weddings-OA 335

Weddings-OA 367

Weddings-OA 369

Weddings-OA 372

Weddings-OA 374

Weddings-OA 376

 

The rest of the week was just as beautiful! Cape May is my favorite place in the world and its mostly due to my awesome family!

Weddings-OA 292

 

Nana Cape May 952

Nana Cape May 1055

Weddings-OA 388

Weddings-OA 406

 

Weddings-OA 472

Weddings-OA 506

Weddings-OA 518

Saturday I came back to the apartment for a few hours and then headed into Atlantic City to work at a wedding at One Atlantic.  For the first hour or so of setup I mastered napkin folding for menu cards.   The theme of the wedding was seashells and sparkles.  The bride made a lot of glitzed up seashells for decor.  They used an adirondack chair as their “guest book”.  I thought this was a really neat idea.  This couple chose not to do a first look before the ceremony, so they used their entire cocktail hour for photos.  The mother of the bride had a surprise planned for them during the photos.  She paid to have a plane fly by with a banner.  They were all really surprised and loved it!  My favorite part of this whole wedding was the Best Man speech.  The groom had a son from a previous relationship and he served as his dad’s best man.  The little boy was maybe 7 years old but gave one of the best speeches I’ve ever heard.  It was so funny and cute at the same time.  It had me tearing up but the groom was actually sobbing because it meant so much to him.  I really wish I had thought of videotaping it on my phone because it was just that cute.  There were a few bumps in the wedding.  Both were due to a lack of communication.  At One Atlantic, we provide a lighting fixture called “Starry Night”.  It is little globes filled with tealights hanging from the ceiling.  This couple chose a package that included this fixture.  After the fixture was all set up they informed the band they would be having a horah (dance).  In the Jewish religion, this is when they put the bride and groom in the air on chairs.  Due to liability they can’t do this when the Starry Night is on the ceiling.  The same thing happened later when they wanted to put the garter on a football to throw.  They did not communicate either of these things with their event planner ahead of time.  If they had communicated this, the event planner would’ve just suggested against the Starry Night fixture so they could have the other aspects of their wedding that they wanted.  This is just another reminder of how important communication is in any and all aspects of event planning.    After working a few weddings now, I’ve learned how the orchestration of a wedding works.  I am now able to just do things on my own without someone reminding me to do it.  I am really enjoying these weddings.  They go very late until the night and I’m usually very tired when I leave, but they’re rewarding for my future.  I’m learning about all types of events and I’m also making some nice friends and connections in the industry.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photography by: Mk Photo

One thought on “Vacations are too short

  1. I love reading your updates! So glad it is going well, and that your transition from vacation back to work has not been too bad (though, I wish we were all still in Cape May!)

Leave a Reply

