Orange & Pink

When I think of some months, certain colors tend to pop into my head.  For November I think of brown & orange and for December its red & green and for January, you have blue & white and the list goes on and on.  For October, I think of orange & pink. Orange reminds me of all the fall foliage and of course pumpkins everywhere and I guarantee during the month of October, you’ll see pink in many places you go for Breast Cancer Awareness month.  This weekend, I saw a lot of these colors.

Friday, my friends and I carried on our yearly tradition of going to Rohrbach Farm’s pumpkin patch in Catawissa, Pa.  Each year they have a little pumpkin festival with a hayride, food and all sorts of things.  In years past we’ve participated in the corn maze, but this year we decided to forego that and instead watched Dani slingshot apples across a field.  We also picked out some pumpkins to take home and paint.  And as Jenna would say, the lighting was golden so it was perfect for pictures.

IMG_0536 IMG_0541 IMG_0542
IMG_0546 IMG_0549 IMG_0565Then Saturday, my student organization, PRSSA organized a balloon release to raise money for Breast Cancer Awareness.  We had a table inside the main gate at the football game and asked for donations.  People could come get a tag that either said “In memory of” or “In honor of” and fill in someone’s name.  We then had them hold onto these tags until halftime when they would be invited down to the track around the field and given a pink balloon to tie their tag to.  My aunt was diagnosed with breast cancer last summer and underwent numerous treatments and thankfully is finally received a clean bill of health just recently, so I wrote my tag for her and tied it to my balloon.  At the beginning of halftime, the announcer gave a nice little speech about our club and what we were about to do and then at once we released 65 balloons into the air.  It was such a great event to help out with and PRSSA raised $133 to be donated to Breast Cancer.

10247377_10205363043943929_2949455067251851332_n IMG_0604 IMG_0607 IMG_0612 IMG_0621 IMG_0622

Leave a Reply

